top of page
Search

If the shoe fits, you've probably trained for it.


I've come to appreciate the feedback that shoes provide on how my body is functioning during a run. It's a constant balancing act to address imbalances and keep my body in play. While I've never achieved perfect balance, I've also never had any major issues.


I remember how my school shoes used to develop holes in the same pattern - first on the right foot, then on the left. My first response was to use a bit of cardboard until I could take them to the shoe repair shop. It's not always about how many miles a shoe has covered, but rather about assessing why a new pair is required. Sometimes, a bit of TLC in the stretch department can help extend their life span and get a few more sessions done.


However, the running industry often pushes the idea that shoes should only last a certain number of kilometers. Shoes can certainly improve performance and assist with running gait, but the question we should be asking ourselves is whether we can squeeze a few more miles out of them before replacing them. Rather than blaming the shoe, we should be asking ourselves what we can do for our bodies to help them perform better.


I've been running Pose-Barefoot-Minimalist for most of my adult life, which means I can get away with running on a flimsy 2mm tread that's barely holding on to the upper and providing daylight for the sole of my foot. Due to my right leg dominance, my left ankle has limited range of motion and my hips are tight, which puts pressure on my landing pattern. I've attached a picture to show what I mean. Despite their worn-out state, these shoes felt good to run in until the last mile.


I have a new pair of Merrels on the way, but I know that it's up to me to look after my body so that my shoes can enjoy the ride. It's not about the shoe dictating my performance, but rather about my body dictating how well my shoes can perform


Hence the title of this blog.








44 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page